Liga Águila Femenina colombia

18 clubs participate in the first Colombian Women’s Eagle League

After 6 months of arduous and constant work, finally the Feminine Eagle League is a reality. With the official launch that took place in Cartagena on the night of Thursday, October 20, began this contest that will begin in February 2017.

The Commission of this championship, led by the President of the Dimayor Jorge Perdomo, chaired by Paola Salazar of Rionegro Águilas, and supported by the Administrative Manager of the Dimayor, Pilar Abella, club directors Rodrigo Rendón, César Guzmán, Ignacio Martán, Of Real Cartagena, Patriotas and Cortuluá respectively and Juan Pablo Moreno, has achieved that this championship has the economic and structural support of FIFA and Conmebol. Entities that like the Dimayor are highly committed to the development of women’s professional football worldwide.

18 clubs will participate in the first version of the Women’s Eagle League, and will be divided into 3 groups of 6 clubs each. The “Group A” will be made up of Union Magdalena, Real Cartagena, Bucaramanga, Cúcuta, Real Santander and Envigado. In the “B” will be present Patriots, Santa Fe, Fortaleza, Equidad, Huila and Pasto. While in the “C” will be located America, Orsomarso, U. Popayán, Cortuluá, Quindío and Pereira. 16 cities and 17 stadiums will enjoy the talent of women.

Likewise, Alianza Petrolera showed its interest to be part of this championship. Therefore, in these last months of the year will be reviewed that all the clubs that registered in the women’s championship meet the necessary requirements to participate. In case one of the 18 clubs does not have the requirements will be replaced by the Santandereano team.

To play the championship, they will play hexagonal with round-trip matches, and will rank the top 2 of each group and the top 2 third. With the 8 clubs advancing to the next instance, the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final will be played, with round-trip encounters, and in July the first female Eagle League champion will be known.

The champion club will be the representative of Colombia in the next Women’s Libertadores Cup of América, in addition to playing a round-trip match with the champion club of the Spanish Women’s League, and as a prize, the champions will receive scholarships to study at the Universidad Sergio Arboleda And other benefits of various trade allies.

Launching is the beginning of the nascent Liga Femenina Águila, the clubs are ready for their women to begin to excite the fans in the stadiums of the country with their talent, just missing the initial pitazo.


Source courtesy of:



Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?