USA to host Australia, Brazil and Japan in 2018 Tournament of Nations from July 26 to August 2.

After hosting the 2018 SheBelieves Cup in early March, a tournament won by the USA, U.S. Soccer will stage its second elite four-team women’s international tournament of the year as Children’s Mercy Park in Kansas City, Kan., Pratt & Whitney Stadium at Rentschler Field in East Hartford, Conn., and Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill., play host to the USA, Australia, Brazil and Japan for the 2018 Tournament of Nations.

The competition format is the same as the SheBelieves Cup and last year’s Tournament of Nations with the four teams each participating in three doubleheader events at three different venues over an eight-day period.

The match days will see Brazil open against Australia on Thursday, July 26, at Children’s Mercy Park (3:15 p.m. CT), followed by the USA against Japan (6 p.m. CT on FS1). All the teams will then travel to East Hartford where Japan will face Brazil on Sunday, July 29 (4:15 p.m. ET) followed by the USA taking on Australia (7 p.m. ET on FS1) at Pratt & Whitney Stadium at Rentschler Field. The tournament will finish on Thursday, Aug. 2, at Toyota Park as Australia faces Japan (4:45 p.m. CT) and the USA tackles Brazil (7:30 p.m. CT on FS1).

The winner of the tournament will be based on total points (three for a win, one for a tie), with the first tie-breaker being overall goal difference, followed by most total tournament goals scored, then head-to-head result and, lastly, FIFA Ranking if necessary.

Australia Matildas won the inaugural Tournament of Nations last year.


Date Matches Stadium City Kickoff (Local / ET) TV
July 26 Brazil vs. Australia Children’s Mercy Park Kansas City, Kan. 3:15 p.m. / 4:15 p.m.
July 26 USA vs. Japan Children’s Mercy Park Kansas City, Kan. 6 p.m. / 7 p.m. FS1
July 29 Japan vs. Brazil Pratt & Whitney Stadium East Hartford, Conn. 4:15 p.m. / 4:15 p.m.
July 29 USA vs. Australia Pratt & Whitney Stadium East Hartford, Conn. 7 p.m. / 7 p.m. FS1
Aug. 2 Australia vs. Japan Toyota Park Bridgeview, Ill. 4:45 p.m. / 5:45 p.m.
Aug. 2 USA vs. Brazil Toyota Park Bridgeview, Ill. 7:30 p.m. / 8:30 p.m. FS1


Australia, Brazil and Japan have all recently qualified for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France through their Confederation tournaments that were staged in April. The USA will play for its World Cup berth when it hosts the 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship in October. The U.S. is currently ranked first in the world, Australia is sixth, Brazil is eighth and Japan is eleventh. The next set of FIFA rankings comes out in June.


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?