Wambach collects her unprecedented sixth Female Athlete of the Year award, and third in the past four years, passing Mia Hamm who was honored for five consecutive years from 1994-1998.


Wambach has now won the award in 2003, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2011 and 2013.Wambach, the 2012 FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year, led the USA in scoring this year with 11 goals and tied for the team lead in assists with six. In addition, Wambach finished second in the NWSL in both goals and assists (11 and 8, respectively) and helped lead her hometown Western New York Flash into the inaugural championship game.


The highlight of Wambach’s year came on June 20 against Korea Republic in front of almost 19,000 people at Red Bull Arena. She scored four times in the opening half to push her goal total to 160 (breaking Hamm’s record of 158). Wambach is once again on the short list for the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year.

1985: Sharon Remer 
1986: April Heinrichs 
1987: Carin Jennings 
1988: Joy Biefeld 
1989: April Heinrichs 
1990: Michelle Akers 
1991: Michelle Akers 
1992: Carin Gabarra 
1993: Kristine Lilly 
1994: Mia Hamm 
1995: Mia Hamm 
1996: Mia Hamm 
1997: Mia Hamm 
1998: Mia Hamm 
1999: Michelle Akers 
2000: Tiffeny Milbrett 
2001: Tiffeny Milbrett 
2002: Shannon MacMillan 
2003: Abby Wambach 
2004: Abby Wambach 
2005: Kristine Lilly 
2006: Kristine Lilly 
2007: Abby Wambach 
2008: Carli Lloyd 
2009: Hope Solo 
2010: Abby Wambach 
2011: Abby Wambach 
2012: Alex Morgan 
2013: Abby Wambach

The 5-foot-9 Horan becomes the first professional player to win the U.S. Soccer Young Female Athlete of the Year award. Horan is the first American female to forego college soccer and sign a professional contact in Europe where she has found success with Paris Saint-Germain in the French Feminine Division 1. The 19-year-old is the youngest female American professional player in the world and has scored 22 times in 27 games for the club. She made her full U.S. WNT debut this year at the Algarve Cup in March when she was 18 and is age-eligible for the 2014 FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup. For the U-20s this year, she has played in four total matches, including two internationals, and scored two goals.


1998: Cindy Parlow 
1999: Lorrie Fair 
2000: Aly Wagner 
2001: Aleisha Cramer 
2002: Lindsay Tarpley 
2003: Cat Reddick 
2004: Heather O’Reilly 
2005: Lori Chalupny 
2006: Danesha Adams 
2007: Lauren Cheney 
2008: Kristie Mewis 
2009: Tobin Heath 
2010: Bianca Henninger 
2011: Sydney Leroux 
2012: Julie Johnston 
2013: Lindsey Horan

The U.S. Soccer Athlete of the Year award is the highest honor awarded to soccer players in the United States. Online votes registered on ussoccer.com counted for 50 percent of the total votes, while the other 50 percent was represented by votes compiled from members of the national media and U.S. Soccer representatives, including National Team coaches and members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors.



Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?