Abby Wambach wins the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2012! 

Abby Wambach was presented her award by team mate Hope Solo and President Sepp Blatter. 


Abby Wambach is a striker for the USWNT, and is currently just six goals behind the US record of 158 international goals, currently held by Mia Hamm. Wambach has reached the final of the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year three times.


In 2012, Abby enjoyed a successful Olympic campaign winning Gold with USA, her second gold medal of her career.

The other nominees… 

It’s been a huge year for the young USA international striker Alex Morgan. In 2012 Alex became the youngest player to score 20 international goals in a calender year. In total Morgan scored 28 goals and had 21 assists in 2012. Morgan celebrated winning the gold medal at the London 2012 Olympics with USA. Alex Morgan was recognized as USA’s 2012 Player of the Year. 


The Brazilian striker Marta is no stranger to the FIFA Ballon d’Or awards, having won the FIFA World Player of the Year title for a record five consecutive years between 2006 and 2010. Marta was part of the Brazilian Women’s national team that reached the London 2012 quarter-finals. At club level Marta helped her team Tyresö FF win the Swedish Damallsvenskan league. 


Abby Wambach accepts award, video highlights:




Pia Sundhage wins the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football Award 2012!

Pia Sundhage accepted her award in style by giving a rendition of Olivia Newton John’s ‘If Not For You’. Sundhage was congratulated by Alex Morgan and Abby Wambach on her way to collect her award. 


Pia Sundhage won the biggest women’s football award of 2012 coaching USA to Olympic Gold! Pia told that every game inspires her.


Pia Sundhage is a great character and ambassador for the women’s game, you can see she has so much passion for the sport. Congratulations Pia, on your well deserved award.


The other nominees.. 

Norio Sasaki won this award last year after successfully winning the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2011 with Nadeshiko Japan. It looked like Japan were going to do the double after making the final of the London 2012 Olympics, but they were defeated by the team they beat in the World Cup final, USA. Norio Sasaki was able to bring home a silver medal from the Olympics.


Bruno Bini won the Cyprus Cup in 2012 with the French Women’s National team, his side are fast becoming a dominating force on the international stage, but they were unable to bring home a medal at the London 2012 Olympics after Canada defeated them in the Bronze medal match.


Pia Sundhage sings during acceptance speech, video highlights:




© Women’s Soccer United


What are your views? Leave your comments below 


  1. Author
    Women's Soccer United 8 years ago

    7′ Huge mistake in the Japanese defence, Osafune nearly scores an own goal!

  2. Lutendo Morris 9 years ago

    Congrats! to Abby and Pia.
    2012 was one of the best in Women’s Football and I hope that 2013 will brings more.

  3. Author
    Women's Soccer United 9 years ago

    Agree @Zinzi 😀

  4. Zinzi 9 years ago

    Love it when Pia starts to sing. How can you not love her?

    Also well deserved for Abby and a great humble speech!

Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?