Abby Wambach received the esteemed Sportswoman of the Year Award, given to an individual athlete in a team sport who exhibits exceptional performances over a 12-month time span. Wambach earned this award for her triumphant season including being named the 2010 U.S. Soccer Female Athlete of the Year (for the fourth time) and named to the Women’s Professional Soccer (WPS) Best XI in October 2010. During the 2010 WPS season, she scored 13 goals (No. 2 in WPS) and eight assists (tied for No. 2) while piling up six multiple goal games. Wambach’s four goals in Germany made her the USA’s all-time leading scorer in Women’s World Cup history with a total of 13 goals, moving her past the great Michelle Akers. Wambach, who plays on the WPS’ Boca Raton magicJack team, tied for the second most goals during the season (9) despite playing only 11 regular season matches due to National Team commitments.


Past winners include Venus and Serena Williams, Jessica Mendoza and Mia Hamm. This year, the winner was selected based on a total score collected by the public and the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Awards Committee. Public votes were captured via the Women’s Sports Foundation Facebook page,
The 32nd Annual Salute to Women in Sports was co-presented by ESPN, espnW, Gatorade® and Playtex Sport. Event partners included official airline sponsor American Airlines, beauty salon partners MAC and Salon Ziba New York, and photo partner Getty Images.



Full Awards:



Photos: Jason Kempin – Mike Coppola /Getty Images North America 


  1. sylvain 11 years ago

    I think Lyon will disclose the travelling players list after the game against PSG on Saturday afternoon as they fly 2 days later on the 19th.

  2. Deborah Bakker 12 years ago


Leave a reply

©2023 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?