Portland Thorns FC 2014 NWSL roster

Portland Thorns FC’s Adrianna Franch Voted 2018 NWSL Goalkeeper of the Year

Portland Thorns FC goalkeeper Adrianna Franch was voted the National Women’s Soccer League Goalkeeper of the Year for the 2018 NWSL season.

Franch, 27, earns her second-consecutive Goalkeeper of the Year award, despite missing nine games with an injury in 2018. In her third season with the Portland Thorns, she helped lead her team to the NWSL Championship twice, including in 2017 and 2018.

Seattle Reign FC’s Lydia Williams and Washington Spirit’s Aubrey Bledsoe finished second and third respectively, in the voting.

2018 Goalkeeper of the Year Voting Results

Adrianna Franch 47.4% 27.5% 55.6% 31.8% 38.8%
Lydia Williams 32.7% 51.0% 22.2% 37.2% 36.1%
Aubrey Bledsoe 20.0% 21.6% 22.2% 31.0% 25.2%

Franch made 14 starts in 2018, posting 3 clean sheets. She made 45 saves, 13 catches, 12 clearances, conceded 14 goals and held a save percentage of 76.3%.
The Salina, Kan. Native recorded five or more saves in a game four times in 2018, including a season-high eight saves against the Seattle Reign FC on June 30.

List of NWSL Goalkeepers of the Year:

2013             Nicole Barnhart       FC Kansas City
2014             Alyssa Naeher        Boston Breakers
2015             Michelle Betos        Portland Thorns FC
2016             Ashlyn Harris          Orlando Pride
2017             Adrianna Franch     Portland Thorns FC
2018             Adrianna Franch     Portland Thorns FC


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?