AFC Woman Player of the Year

Winner: Aya Miyama (Japan)



“Winning this award is a big surprise for me and I would like to thank all those were involved with me during this wonderful year of football,” Miyama said after the joint men and women’s AFC Player of the Year award presentation ceremony that featured both AFC President Zhang Jilong and FIFA President Sepp Blatter.

“My gratitude goes to the Japanese national football team, my club, coaches, my fellow players with whom I play and the staff members.

“We had a very good year but next year is also a crucial year with the team already having qualified for the 2012 London Olympics 2012.

“If we stick together as a team and spend lots of time playing with quality opponents, we have a really good chance to win the gold medal.

“If you play like a team with lots of spirit and vigor, success could be around the corner just as it was with us at the FIFA Women’s World Cup last summer.”




AFC Youth Player of the Year – Women

Winner: Caitlin Foord (Australia)

“It’s fantastic to be one of the nominees first but ultimately winning the award makes me very happy,” said Foord, who turned 17 on November 11, after receiving the award from Zaw Zaw, AFC Executive Committee Member and Chairman of the Organizing Committee for AFC Youth Competitions

“Women’s football in Australia is going up and it will continue to grow more in years to come.”




AFC National Team of the Year – Women

Winner: Japan


AFC Assistant Referee of the Year – Women


Winner: Sarah Ho (Australia)

After receiving her award from AFC Executive Committee Member and Deputy Chairman of the AFC Referees’ Committee Sayyid Khalid Hamid Al Busaidi, Ho joked:

“Normally I am used to holding a flag but this time holding a trophy has a bit of a different affect on me – I am quite nervous but at the same time very happy to be amongst Asia’s top.

“I really enjoy my job as an assistant referee as it is also one of the specialized jobs in football.”


AFC Referee of the Year – Women


Winner: Sachiko Yamagishi (Japan)

“I cannot believe it! Even after a few minutes of receiving the award I am still surprised but very happy,” said Yamagishi after being presented the accolade from Worawi Makudi, FIFA Executive Committee Member and Chairman of the AFC Referees’ Committee.

“It’s good to see our effort on the pitch paid off and are honoured at such a grand function. I would like to thank the AFC for recognizing the people who work in the field tirelessly.”


AFC Coach of the Year – Women

Winner: Takako Tezuka (Japan)


Tezuka was assistant to Hiroshi Yoshida as the under 19’s won four and drew one to claim continental honours in Ho Chi Minh City in October before the same duo masterminded the under 16s triumph the following month, with the Japanese ending their campaign in Nanjing with a 100% to seal the East Asians’ third women’s title of 2011.

“I am honoured to get this award and I consider myself quite fortunate to win it,” Tezuka said after receiving her accolade from AFC Executive Committee member and Chairman of the AFC Technical Committee Kohzo Tashima.

“I am a simple coach and my job is to keep the condition of players fit, so I did my job with honesty and it is paid off.”


AFC Member Association of the Year

Winner: Japan

AFC Fair Play Association of the Year

Winner:  Korea Republic



Photos: AP/


  1. Elena Kelly 11 years ago

    I am also Irish and have never seen the Irish women play, except for short clips. I’m looking forward to the Phoenix game, and the chance to see Captain Ciara Grant play in person. If I have any Irish luck, they will be serving Guinness at the concessions. 🙂

  2. Sopheena Liti Nyowep 12 years ago

    Oh my..I missed watching this event on tv..nevermind..thank you for the info 🙂

  3. Women's Soccer United 12 years ago

    Nice video, thanks Izzy 🙂

  4. Izzy 12 years ago

Leave a reply

©2023 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?