Alex Morgan

Orlando Pride Forward Alex Morgan Named Concacaf Female Player of the Year

Morgan wins for third-straight year; Fourth win all-time

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) has announced the winners of the 2018 Concacaf Awards, with Orlando Pride and U.S. Women’s National Team forward Alex Morgan named as the 2018 Female Player of the Year.

The honor marked the fourth overall win for Morgan, and the third straight year she has won the award. The California native won the inaugural award for her 2013 campaign and has taken home the honor for her 2016, 2017 and 2018 seasons.

Morgan led the U.S. WNT to a sparkling year, which included a 5-0-0 record at the 2018 Concacaf Women’s Championship. The 29-year-old played a major part in her team’s qualification for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, scoring seven goals and winning the tournament’s Golden Boot.

Overall, the U.S. WNT co-captain finished the year with a team-high 18 goals and three assists over 19 appearances. Currently, Morgan sits just two goals shy of reaching the 100 goal plateau, where she would become the seventh player in U.S. history to hit the benchmark.

Morgan finished her third season with the Pride with five goals and two assists in her 19 NWSL appearances.

The annual awards, which began in 2013 and are being presented for the sixth time, recognize players, coaches and referees at all age levels, who have excelled in Concacaf and FIFA-sanctioned tournaments involving the Confederation’s national teams and clubs.

The award is determined by an equally-weighted vote among national team head coaches, national team captains, experts from the media and millions of fans.

List of CONCACAF 2018 winners:

Female Player of the Year

1. Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride/USA
2. Khadija Shaw (JAM) – University of Tennessee/USA
3. Lindsey Horan (USA) – Portland Thorns FC/USA

Female Goalkeeper of the Year

1. Alyssa Naeher (USA) – Chicago Red Starts/USA
2. Yenith Bailey (PAN) – Sporting SM/PAN
3. Stephanie Labbe (CAN) – Linköpings FC/SWE

Women’s Football Coach of the Year

1. Hue Menzies (JAM) – Jamaica Women’s National Team/Florida Kraze Krush/USA
2. Jill Ellis (USA) – United States Women’s National Team
3. Monica Vergara (MEX) – Mexico U-17 Women’s National Team

Female Referee of the Year

1. Lucila Venegas (MEX)
2. Crystal Sobers (TRI)
3. Carol Anne Chenard (CAN)

Outstanding Performance Award

Jamaica Women’s National Team

Female Best XI

GK – Alyssa Naeher (USA) – Chicago Red Starts/USA
DF – Kadeisha Buchanan (CAN) – Olympique Lyonnais/FRA
DF – Crystal Dunn (USA) – NC Courage/USA
DF – Tanna Sanchez (MEX U-17) – Tecnologico de Monterrey Campus Puebla/MEX
DF – Becky Sauerbrunn (USA) – Utah Royals FC/USA
MF – Lindsey Horan (USA) – Portland Thorns/USA
MF – Khadija Shaw (JAM) – University of Tennessee/USA
MF – Nicole Perez (MEX U-17) – CD Guadalajara/MEX
FW – Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride/USA
FW – Christine Sinclair (CAN) – Portland Thorns/USA
FW – Jody Brown (JAM) – AS Roma/ITA


Leave a reply

©2023 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?