USWNT forward Alex Morgan was awarded the Sportswoman of the Year Award (Team Sport) last night at the 33rd Salute to Women in Sports Gala in New York.


The prestigious award was given to Alex Morgan for her exceptional performances in a team sport over a 12 month span.


During the past 12 months, Alex Morgan has proved herself to be an indispensable part of the US Women’s National Soccer Team. 


At the London 2012 Olympics she played a huge part in assisting and scoring game winning goals, including the decisive late injury goal to beat Canada in the semifinal match. In total, Morgan scored three goals and had four assists in her first appearance at an Olympic Games.


Alex Morgan was selected as winner based on a total score collected by the public and the Women’s Sports foundation Committee. Previous winners of this award include Alex Morgan’s team-mate Abby Wambach, Venus and Serena Williams, Jessica Mendoza and Mia Hamm.


Alex Morgan is currently on tour with the US Women’s National Soccer Team, the next fixture in their Fan Tribute tour takes place this Saturday 20th October 2012 against Germany


© Women’s Soccer United


What are your views? Leave your comments below 



  1. Ken Suzuki 9 years ago

    Now Naho is involved in attack. I believe she regrets her “INAC” teammate Ohno is not there.

Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?