Australia and New Zealand Will host the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup



The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 will be staged in Australia and New Zealand, following a vote taken by the FIFA Council during its meeting held via videoconference, the result of which was announced by FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

The joint bid submitted by Football Federation Australia and New Zealand Football received 22 of the 35 valid votes cast by the FIFA Council members in the first ballot, with the Colombian Football Association having obtained 13 votes. The full voting results are available below.

Following on from the astounding success of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 in France and the subsequent unanimous decision by the FIFA Council, the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 will be the first edition to feature 32 teams and it will also be the first to be hosted by Australia and New Zealand and across two confederations (AFC and OFC).

The joint bid got the vote ahead of Colombia, which was the only other Country in the running after Brazil and Japan dropped out of the race in June.


The two countries have proposed to stage matches at up to eight grounds in Australia and Five in New Zealand.


Australia Stadiums:

Stadium Australia, Sydney (The Final) Ground Holds 70,000

Brisbane Stadium – Ground Holds 52,263

Hindmarsh Stadium, Adelaide – Ground Holds 18,435

Melbourne Rectangular Stadium – Ground Holds 30,052

Newcastle Stadium – Ground Holds 25,945

Perth Rectangular Stadium, Ground Holds 22,225

Sydney Football Stadium – Ground Holds 42,512

York Park, Launceston, Tasmania – Ground Holds 22,065

New Zealand Stadiums:

Christchurch Stadium – Ground Holds 22,556

Dunedin Stadium, Ground Holds 28,744

Eden Park, Auckland – Ground Holds 48,276

Waikato Stadium, Hamilton – Ground Holds 25,111

Wellington Stadium – Ground Holds 39,000




Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?