Australia to bid for FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023

Australia will bid to host the world’s largest and most prestigious women’s sporting event – the FIFA Women’s World Cup – in 2023.

The announcement was made by the Prime Minister of Australia, The Hon. Malcolm Turnbull MP and Football Federation Australia (FFA) Chairman Steven Lowy AM in the Great Hall at Parliament House, Canberra with the support of the Federal Minster for Sport, The Hon Greg Hunt MP and The Federal Minister for Women, Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash.

The Australian Federal Government also announced that they will provide FFA with financial support in the form of initial funding to the value of $1 million with the balance of $4m to be granted following fulfilment of designated criteria and milestones.

Speaking at the announcement, FFA Chairman Steven Lowy was excited by the prospect of Australia once again hosting a major FIFA tournament. The most recent FIFA Women’s World Cup, in Canada in 2015, saw a total match attendance of 1.35 million and a global television audience of 764 million with more than 80 million viewers in China and more than 60 million viewers in the United States.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup is the ultimate competition in women’s football and is held every four years. The last tournament was held in Canada in 2015 and the next will be held in 2019 in France.

The 2023 tournament would see 24 teams compete over 52 matches, hosted across a number of locations.

Source courtesy of:


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?