Brazil celebrate

Brazil become first South American team to qualify for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Having already secured two victories in the final phase of the Copa América Femenina 2018 in Chile, Brazil has reached six points and secured their place at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France.

Brazil became the first South American team to book their place at next year’s World Cup after beating Argentina 3-0 in the Copa América Femenina match, giving them six points in the final phase of the competition. It was in the second half of the contest that the deadlock was broken with goals from Cristiane, Thaisa and Debinha.

The qualification means that Brazil will be competing at their eighth successive World Cup, their best ever performance at this competition was at China 2007 where they finished as runners-up. They were defeated 2-0 in the Final by Germany. Marta ended that tournament as top goalscorer and winning the Best player accolade.

Colombia and Chile’s contest ended in a goalless draw. Brazil lead the final stage on 6 points ahead of Argentina (3 points), Chile (1 point) and Colombia (1 point). Brazil only need a draw in the game against Colombia on Sunday to become the 2018 Copa América Femenina Champions and automatically qualify for the 2020 Women’s Olympic Football Tournament in Tokyo! Here’s a reminder of the full Copa América Femenina 2018 fixtures and results so far.

It is likely that the winner of the match between Chile and Argentina will earn the second automatic ticket into the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, unless Colombia defeat Brazil.

The third-place team will compete in a play-off against a CONCACAF opponent for a final chance to claim a spot at France 2019.


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?