Saki Kumagai

China PR, Thailand, Australia and Japan qualify for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup

China, Thailand, Australia and Japan have advanced to the semi-final stage of the AFC Women’s Asian Cup Jordan 2018 and booked their place at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France.

China had a perfect campaign in the group stage at the Asian Women’s Cup 2018 with three wins from three. They were the first team from Asia to book their place at next year’s Women’s World Cup courtesy of their Matchday Two win against Philippines.

Finishing runners-up of Group A, Thailand have earned a second successive qualification for the FIFA Women’s World Cup and reached their first AFC Women’s Asian Cup semi-final since 1986.

Australia Matildas and Nadeshiko Japan played to a 1-1 draw in today’s action. The result means Australia are the Group B winners on goal difference ahead of Japan. Both teams advance to the semi-final stage, and both have their ticket to the World Cup!

The knockout stage for the AFC Women’s Asian Cup 2018 starts on Monday 16 April, take a look at the 2018 Women’s Asian Cup full schedule.


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?