The Canadian Soccer Association have announced that Christine Sinclair is the winner of the female selection for the 2011 BMO Canadian Players of the Year award.

The vote was made by Canadian media (50%) and Canadian coaches (50%).

Christine Sinclair has won this award for an impressive seventh-consecutive year.

Canadian women’s national team head coach John Herdman said to “Christine is a phenomenal leader, player and person and it’s great to see her recognised again in this way, to stay consistently at the top of the game and win this award for the seventh consecutive time, it is no easy task. It takes a very special person”.

Sinclair is a consistent hard-worker who always gives 100%, at the recent 2011 Pan American Games Guadalajara, Canada trailed 0-1 until Sinclair scored the late equaliser to take the game into extra time. Canada went on to win the gold medal after winning 4-3 in a penalty shootout. At this summer’s women’s World Cup, Christine kicked off Canada’s campaign with a free-kick goal against hosts Germany in front of 73,680 supporters with a broken nose she suffered earlier in the match. Sinclair’s domestic career is equally successful, Christine won her second straight WPS Championship this season.

Here is the final list of the female nominees from the Canadian women’s national team:

1. Christine Sinclair (49.3)

2. Sophie Schmidt (12.4)

3. Karina LeBlanc (10.85)

4. Diana Matheson (10.3)

5. Candace Chapman (7.3)

6. Kaylyn Kyle (5.3)

Here are the Canadian Players of the Year, previous winners:

2010 – Atiba Hutchinson & Christine Sinclair
2009 – Simeon Jackson & Christine Sinclair
2008 – Julian de Guzman & Christine Sinclair
2007 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2006 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2005 – Dwayne De Rosario & Christine Sinclair
2002 – Charmaine Hooper
1998 – Tomasz Radzinski & Silvana Burtini
1996 – Paul Peschisolido & Geraldine Donnelly
1995 – Alex Bunbury & Charmaine Hooper
1994 – Craig Forrest & Charmaine Hooper
1993 – Alex Bunbury


What are your views? Leave your comments below


  1. Izzy 8 years ago

  2. Sebastian Kanty 9 years ago

    congrats to to her…but somebody should tell the canadian coaches that there are canadians, playing outside north america, that are more deserving a place on this list of nominees…maybe not winning but certainly to bee there

Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?