Colin Bell

Roche & O’Gorman miss out through injury…

Colin Bell announces Republic of Ireland 21-player squad for FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 qualifier against Slovakia

Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team Head Coach Colin Bell has named a 21-player squad for the FIFA 2019 World Cup qualifier against Slovakia.

The WNT travel to Slovakia for the qualifier at the National Training Centre in Senec, Slovakia on Tuesday, October 24th with kick-off at 4.30pm (5.30pm CET).

Republic of Ireland strikers Stephanie Roche and Aine O’Gorman have been ruled out of the game following injuries sustained in the 2-0 win over Northern Ireland so the WNT manager has recalled Celtic forward Ruesha Littlejohn to the squad.

Shelbourne Ladies winger Isibeal Atkinson receives her first senior call-up to the squad following her impressive form for the WU17s in their recent unbeaten qualifying group campaign against Bosnia & Herzegovina, Romania and Greece.

Wexford Youths striker Claire O’Riordan also comes into the squad following her impressive form for the Continental Tyres Women’s National League leaders as the WNT look to build on their impressive start to the campaign with a result in Slovakia.

WNT Head Coach Colin Bell said: “To sustain two injuries in the first qualifying game was a major blow to us. Stephanie and Aine are major parts of the team and have plenty of experience so we will miss them for this game, but it is also an opportunity for the other players to step up.

“Ruesha Littlejohn comes back into the squad as she has plenty of international experience and Claire O’Riordan comes in after she joined us in the Northern Ireland camp, and has really impressed me with her recent form.

“I’m delighted to welcome Isibeal Atkinson into the squad, her first senior call-up and I’m sure she’ll relish the experience. She’s really impressed me during the home-based training sessions as well as our time in Bosnia with the Under-17s, and I think she will benefit from training with the senior squad.

“With an important elite phase in the Netherlands coming up for the Women’s Under-19s, I felt it was important not to call up any player from that group to give Dave Connell’s side the best chance of progression.

“It is going to be a tough match for us but it’s important we go into the game looking to build off that positivity from our performance in Northern Ireland and keep pushing forward in our qualification campaign.”

Republic of Ireland squad to face Slovakia


Marie Hourihan (Manchester City),
Amanda Budden (Cork City WFC),
Amanda McQuillan (Shelbourne Ladies)


Harriet Scott (Reading WFC),
Diane Caldwell (SC Sand),
Louise Quinn (Arsenal),
Sophie Perry (Brighton and Hove Albion),
Clare Walsh (UCD Waves),
Megan Campbell (Manchester City).


Karen Duggan (UCD Waves),
Niamh Fahey (Bordeaux),
Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage),
Tyler Toland (Maiden City),
Roma McLaughlin (Shelbourne Ladies).


Katie McCabe (Arsenal, on loan at Glasgow City),
Amber Barrett (Peamount United),
Claire O’Riordan (Wexford Youths),
Ruesha Littlejohn (Celtic),
Leanne Kiernan (Shelbourne Ladies),
Heather Payne (Peamount United),
Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne Ladies).


Leave a reply

©2020 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?