Two-times defending champion United States will take on hosts Panama, Guatemala and Cuba in the first round of the CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship, while Canada will play Mexico, Haiti and Jamaica.

Sunday’s draw at the confederation’s Miami office set the first round matches for the March 1-11 event, to be played entirely Estadio Rommel Fernandez in Panama City, which was the site of last year’s Copa CentoAmericana in addition to numerous CONCACAF Champions League matches.

Originally, Estadio Agustin Muquita Sanchez in La Chorrera, Panama, also had been designated for use, but a weekend inspection determined it did not have the necessary requirements.

Group A with Canada, Mexico, Haiti and Jamaica will open the tournament on March 1 and play March 3 and March 5. Group B with the Panama, Cuba, Guatemala and the United States will play March 2, 4 and 6.

The semifinals are set for March 9 with the finals, championship and third-place match, to follow two days later. A complete detailed match schedule is expected by the end of the week.

Three teams will qualify for the Under-20 Women’s World Cup. The world championship finals had been awarded to Uzbekistan, but was withdrawn because for “logistical and technical” issues in December by FIFA, which said Japan had offered to host the event.

Group A






Group B


United States





Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?