Vivianne Miedema

Double delight for Vivianne Miedema

Vivianne Miedema is celebrating double success as she picked up the BBC’s Young player and player of the season on Thursday afternoon.

The Netherlands striker has netted 16 times for Arsenal in the Women’s Super League this season leading the way in the Golden Boot race.

Miedema has had another spectacular season and one moment that will never be forgotten is her six goals and four assists against Bristol City back in December in a famous 11-1 victory.

Before that game the record for goal involvements in a Women’s Super League match was five a record also held by the Dutch striker as she scored three and claimed two assists against Liverpool in a 5-0 win in 2018.

She scooped the WSL Player of the Season with 21% of the votes and young player of the season with 18%.

Miedema beat Chelsea striker Bethany England to the player of the year prize beating the English International by 2% of the votes

Arsenal’s Danielle Van De Donk came third with 15% of the vote in the player of the year category , its testament to the work being done by Joe Montemurro and his Arsenal staff that two players make the top three.

Leah Williamson was runner up in the young player of the season award as she collected 14% of the votes in that category.

Lauren James who picked up the Athletic’s Young player of the season finished behind the Arsenal duo in third.

The Gunners also have six representatives in the BBC Women’s Super League team of the season.

Leah Williamson, Lisa Evans, Kim Little, Vivianne Miedema, Danielle Van De Donk and Beth Mead have been voted into the eleven alongside Manchester City duo Ellie Roebuck and Jill Scott and Chelsea’s Bethany England, Millie Bright and Magdalena Eriksson.

It was revealed that Williamson, Evans and Miedema were the three most voted for players in the team of the year.

Chelsea boss Emma Hayes scooped the WSL manager of the year award after guiding Chelsea to an unbeaten season in the league so far and leading them to the Continental Cup title before the season was suspended due to the coronavirus crises.

Arsenal’s Joe Montemurro was named as runner up just 2% of the votes behind Hayes as Manchester United manager Casey Stoney finished third after leading the Red Devils to 4th in the table in their debut WSL season.

Team of the year
Ellie Roebuck (Manchester City) , Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Millie Bright (Chelsea) Magdalena Erikssen (Chelsea) Lisa Evans (Arsenal), Kim Little (Arsenal), Danielle van de Donk (Arsenal) , Jill Scott (Manchester City), Bethany England (Chelsea), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal), Beth Mead (Arsenal).


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?