Early goal denies Republic of Ireland WU19s against Germany

Dave Connell’s Republic of Ireland under 19 Women’s side went down 1-0 to Germany in their opening UEFA Women’s Under 19 Championship Elite Round Group game.

Connell’s side produced a strong defensive performance in Tallaght Stadium with Vikoria Schwalm’s first half strike collecting all three points for Germany. Amanda McQuillan was the busier of the two goalkeepers in the first half, the Irish defence keeping the German shots at range, McQuillan stopping both Sanders and Ehegotz.

Germany took the lead on 31 minutes, the hosts failed to fully clear with Lina Hauslcke chipped pass slotted past McQuillan by Viktoria Schwalm. McQuillan produced a super save to stop and hold Isabella Hartig’s edge of the box free kick one minute before half time, Savannah McCarthy having fouled Sanders. Nina Ehegotz rattled the McQuillan’s cross bar on 51 minutes while McQuillan reached to produce a clean grab on Schwalm’s 25 yard drive down.

Ireland had Germany on the back foot for many periods in the second half with good word from Roma McLaughlin and Hayley Nolan though failed to test German keeper Brandt. Jamie Finn had Irelands first clear cut chance 60 seconds later, linking up with Roma McLaughlin though firing over Brandt’s cross bar.

McQuillan was at her best again on 72 minutes, this time stopping with her legs as Sanders charged in on goal with the Irish wanting an offside. Schwalm blasted Walking’s corner over the bar with the Irish defensive door refusing to open for a second time. Ireland shouted for a penalty in the final minute as German captain Michaela Specht bundled second half substitute Rachel Kearns over.

The opening round results see’s Ireland in fourth place in group one after Azerbaijan drew 1-1 with Poland in group one’s other fixture. Ireland face Azerbaijan in their second Group 1 game on Thursday in Tallaght Stadium, kick off 7.30pm.

Germany: Brandy, Specht, Hauslcke, Hartig, Gasper (Kempe h-t), Schalm, Walkling, Feldkamp, Gerhardt, Ehegotz, Sanders.

Republic of Ireland: McQuillan, Nelson, Keenan, McCarthy, Prior, Finn (Kearns 72), Daly (McCartan 50), Nolan, Gargan, McLaughlin, Nolan (Beirne 81).

Referee: L Otte (Belgium).

FAI press release.


Leave a reply

©2020 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?