England defeats Canada 1-0 to win the Cyprus Cup 2015

England defeats Canada 1-0 to win the Cyprus Cup 2015

A Lianne Sanderson goal gave England a 1-0 victory over Canada in the Cyprus Cup 2015 Final on Wednesday!

This win marks the third time that England have won the Cyprus Cup. They previously won in 2009 and 2013.

The final was played out at GSZ Stadium in Larnaca where both teams entered the game unbeaten in the tournament so far.

The game started pretty evenly with both goalkeepers being called into action. Unsurprisingly, Canada’s Christine Sinclair was a constant threat, creating chances for Canada.

The deadlock would not be broken until the 67th minute when Lianne Sanderson finished off an impressive England build-up.

Team Line-ups:

England (4-4-2): 13 Siobhan Chamberlain (Arsenal); 2 Alex Scott (Arsenal), 6 Laura Bassett (Notts County), 14 Alex Greenwood (Notts County), 23 Claire Rafferty (Chelsea); 7 Jordan Nobbs (C; Arsenal), 8 Jill Scott (Manchester City), 16 Fara Williams (Liverpool), 11 Karen Carney (Birmingham City); 9 Jodie Taylor (Portland Thorns), 22 Lianne Sanderson (Arsenal).

Substitutes: 12 Gemma Bonner (Liverpool) for Rafferty 68, 17 Katie Chapman (Chelsea) for J Scott 68, 18 Jade Moore (Birmingham City) for Taylor 88, 10 Fran Kirby (Reading) for Carney 90.

Substitutes not used: 1 Karen Bardsley (Manchester City), 3 Demi Stokes (Manchester City), 4 Jo Potter (Birmingham City), 15 Amy Turner (Notts County), 19 Jess Clarke (Notts County), 20 Eniola Aluko (Chelsea), 21 Carly Telford (Notts County).

Head coach: Mark Sampson

Canada: 1 Erin McLeod, 3 Kadeisha Buchanan, 7 Rhian Wilkinson, 9 Josee Belanger, 11 Desiree Scott, 12 Christine Sinclair (C), 13 Sophie Schmidt, 14 Melissa Tancredi, 15 Allysha Chapman, 22 Ashley Lawrence, 25 Rebecca Quinn.

Substitutes: 19 Adriana Leon for Tancredi 26, 18 Janine Beckie for Belanger 76, 4 Carmelina Moscato for Quinn 67, 17 Jessie Fleming for Lawrence 67.

Substitutes not used: 21 Stephanie Labbe, 23 Karina Le Blanc, 2 Emily Zurrer, , 5 Robyn Gayle, 16 Jonelle Filigno, 20 Marie-Eve Nault, 26 Christina Julien, 27 Selenia Iacchelli.

Head coach: John Herdman

View all of today’s Cyprus Cup 2015 placement match results.

View the Cyprus Cup 2015 Final Standings


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?