England to host 2021 UEFA Women's EURO

England to host 2021 UEFA Women’s European Championship.

It’s official! Football is coming home as England are confirmed as hosts for the 2021 UEFA Women’s European Championship.

The English Football Association were the only bidder for the 2021 edition of the tournament but their application had to meet the guidelines by UEFA before being officially awarded.

Eight football stadium venues were included in England’s bid:

Brighton & Hove Albion’s Amex Stadium,
London (Brentford Community Stadium & Wembley Stadium (final))
MK Dons’ Stadium MK,
Manchester City’s Academy Stadium,
Nottingham Forest’s City Ground,
Rotherham’s New York Stadium,
Sheffield United’s Bramall Lane
Southampton’s St Mary’s Stadium

The UEFA Women’s European Championship 2021 Final will be staged at Wembley Stadium.

England have hosted the competition previously in 2005, attracting a record opening group match attendance of 29,092, watching England v Finland in Manchester.

The 2021 edition of the UEFA Women’s Euro will feature 16 teams drawn into four groups, The Netherlands are the holders of the title, winning in front of their home crowd in 2017.

Road to England

Qualifying group stage draw: 22 February 2019, Nyon
Qualifying group stage dates: 26 August–3 September 2019, 30 September–8 October 2019, 4–12 November 2019, 2–11 March 2020, 6–14 April 2020, 1–9 June 2020, 14–22 September 2020
Play-off draw: 25 September 2020, Nyon
Play-offs (two legs): 19–27 October 2020
Final tournament draw: late 2020, England
Final tournament: July 2021, England

*All dates are provisional and subject to change


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?