Olympic Rings at Madureira Park in Rio

Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland and Norway to compete in Rio 2016 Olympic qualifiers

The Netherlands will host a qualifying tournament next year in which Sweden Switzerland Norway and the Netherlands will compete for a place at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Norway, Sweden, Switzerland and the Netherlands were all knocked out in the Round of 16 stage of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015. Norway were defeated 2-1 by England, Sweden fell 4-1 to Germany, the Netherlands were beaten 2-1 by Japan and Switzerland lost 1-0 to Canada.

Germany and France have already booked their place at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games as Germany advanced to the semi-final stage and France made the quarter-finals.

England were the highest European finisher at the FIFA Women’s World Cup having earned the bronze medal but they are not allowed to enter the Olympics as they compete in those games as Team GB. This means there is still the third and final European ticket to the Olympic Games up for grabs!

European qualifying fixtures for the Rio 2016 Olympics:

Wednesday, March 2nd, 2016

Norway – Sweden
Switzerland – Netherlands

Saturday, March 5th, 2016

Norway – Netherlands
Sweden – Switzerland

Wednesday, March 9th, 2016

Switzerland – Norway
Netherlands – Sweden


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?