European Qualifying for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup starts on 16th September 2021



Qualifying stage: 16th September to 6th September 2022


The record 51 contenders are split into six groups of six teams, and three of five. They are competing for nine direct spots in the finals as well as the chance to play off for three other European berths, and another in the inter-confederation play-offs, which like the finals will take place in Australia and New Zealand.

The winners of the nine qualifying groups will progress directly to the finals in Australia and New Zealand from 20th July to 20th August 2023.

The group runners-up take part in the UEFA play-offs in October 2022

In the play-offs, the three best runners-up will be seeded directly to round 2 of the play-offs. The six remaining runners-up contest three single-leg play-offs in round 1

The three winners from round 1 and the three teams seeded directly to round 2 will then compete in single-leg play-offs determined by a draw.

The two play-off winners with the highest ranking (based on results in the qualifying group stage and round 2 play-offs) will qualify for the finals.

The remaining play-off winner will compete in the inter-confederation play-offs from 17th to 23rd February 2023 in Australia and New Zealand.


Qualifying Groups:

Group A:

Sweden, Finland, Republic of Ireland, Slovakia, Georgia

Group B:

Spain, Scotland, Ukraine, Hungary, Faroe Islands

Group C:

Netherlands, Iceland, Czech Republic, Belarus, Cyprus

Group D:

England, Austria, Northern Ireland, North Macedonia, Latvia, Luxembourg

Group E:

Denmark, Russia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Malta, Montenegro

Group F:

Norway, Belgium, Poland, Albania, Kosovo, Armenia

Group G:

Italy, Switzerland, Romania, Croatia, Moldova, Lithuania

Group H:

Germany, Portugal, Serbia, Israel, Turkey, Bulgaria

Group I:

France, Wales, Slovenia, Greece, Kazakhstan, Estonia



Dates Qualifying group stage:

16th to 21st September 2021

21st to 26th October 2021

25th to 30th November 2021

23rd February 2022

7th to 12th April 2022

23rd to 28th June 2022

1st to 6th September 2022


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?