FA Women's Premier League logo

FA Women’s new Premier League will now have six divisions

The first meeting of the new FA Women’s Premier League was held at Burton Albion FC on Sunday 22nd June 2014. The meeting saw the amalgamation of the old FA Women’s Premier League and the four Combination Leagues. The new FA Women’s Premier League now has 72 clubs and six divisions and in addition to that it also has a Reserve section.

The top two divisions are the Northern and Southern Division

Under them are Northern Division 1, Midlands Division 1, South-East Division 1 and South-West Division 1.

Southern Division Teams:

Brighton & Hove Albion

Cardiff City

Charlton Athletic

Copsewood (Coventry)


Keynsham Town

Lewes Ladies FC

Plymouth Argyle


Queens Park Rangers

Tottenham Hotspur

West Ham United



Northern Division Teams:

(To Follow)


The new FA Women’s Premier League will be provided with support around fixtures and player registration from The FA. The new league will also receive an annual grant of £90,000.

A full-time league officer will be appointed and two members of the FA Women’s Football board have been nominated on the FA WPL management committee to provide further support and guidance.

The positive development of the English women’s football league will see a sustainable pathway created from the winter football pyramid through to the summer league (FA Women’s Super League).


Thanks to Charlton Athletic WFC


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?