English FA Women’s Super League named The World’s Best League 2020

The IFFHS Awards 2020 winners are announced

In what’s been an unprecedented year, football has continued to provide unity and joy when possible. 2020 marks the 33rd year of the IFFHS Awards, having established in 1987, with 150 countries of all continents represented, composed of selected football journalists and historians.

Among the 2020 winners is the English FA Women’s Super League, who has earned the World’s Best League accolade. The top-tier league in English women’s football has most notably this year attracted some of the biggest names in the game, including Alex Morgan, Tobin Heath, Christen Press and Sam Kerr, to name just a few. These players join a league which already boasts world class players.

The Winners of the 2020 IFFHS AWARDS are:

– The World’s Best Goalkeeper: Sarah Bouhaddi (FRANCE/OLYMPIQUE LYONNAIS)

– The World’s Best Playmaker: Dzsenifer Marozsán (GERMANY/OLYMPIQUE LYONNAIS)

– The World’s Best Club: Olympique Lyonnais (FRANCE)

– The World’s Best League: FA Women’s Super League (ENGLAND)


– The World’s Best Club Coach: Jean-Luc Vasseur (FRANCE/OLYMPIQUE LYONNAIS)

Jean-Luc Vasseur was appointed manager of Olympique Lyonnais on 17 June 2019. As a player, Vasseur played with Paris Saint-Germain, Stade Rennais, Saint-Étienne, US Créteil, Racing Paris and FCM Aubervilliers.

– The World’s Best National Coach: Sarina Wiegman (NETHERLANDS)


– The World’s Best Referee: Stéphanie Frappart (FRANCE)

Stéphanie Frappart has been on the FIFA International Referees List since 2009. Frappart made history on 2 December 2020 when she became the first female to referee a men’s UEFA Champions League match. She took charge of Juventus’ Group G match against Dynamo Kiev in Turin.


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?