Kansas City win 2014 NWSL Championship

FC Kansas City are 2014 NWSL Champions.

Kansas City defeated Seattle Reign FC 2-1 in the NWSL Championship Final to be crowned 2014 winners!

Seattle Reign dominated the 2014 regular season but Kansas City were able to break down the strong side in order to claim the NWSL Championship title.

Amy Rodriguez broke the deadlock in the 23rd minute:

Lauren Holiday doubled Kansas City’s lead in the 56th minute but Seattle Reign continued to create chances.

In the 87th minute Megan Rapinoe scored to half the deficit and it was nail biting end as Seattle searched for the equaliser and Kansas worked to defend their lead.

After three minutes of injury time the whistle blew and celebrations started for Kansas City.

Match Report:

Seattle Reign FC vs. FC Kansas City
August 31, 2014

Starfire Sports Complex
Tukwila, Wash.

Goals                        1   2   F
Seattle Reign FC       0   1   1
FC Kansas City         1   1   2

Scoring Summary
KC- Amy Rodriguez, 22′ (Holiday)
KC- Rodriguez, 56′ (Holiday)
SEA – Megan Rapinoe, 87′

Misconduct Summary
KC – LePeilbet (Caution) – 79′
SEA – Solo (Caution) – 90’+

SEA: GK Hope Solo, D Stephanie Cox, D Lauren Barnes, D Elli Reed (Mariah Nogueira, 83′), D Kendall Fletcher, M Keelin Winters, M Jessica Fishlock, M Kim Little, F Nahomi “Naho” Kawasumi, F Sydney Leroux (Beverly Goebel, 67′), F Megan Rapinoe

KC: GK Nicole Barnhart, D Kassey Kallman, D Nikki Phillips, D Leigh Ann Robinson, D Becky Sauerbrunn, M Jen Buczkowski, M Jenna Richmond, M Lauren Holiday, M Merritt Mathias (Amy LePeilbet, 71′), M Erika Tymrak (Elizabeth Bogus, 76′), F Amy Rodriguez (Sarah Hagen, 64′)

Referee: Margaret Domka
Assistant Referees: Marlene Duff; Danielle Chesky
Fourth Official: Katia Koroleva

Attendance: 4,252


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?