nwsl logo

FIFA Approves New Dates for 2016 NWSL Secondary Transfer Window

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced today that the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) has approved a request by the League, via U.S. Soccer, to move the secondary transfer/registration window to June 15 – July 14, 2016. Previously, the NWSL secondary transfer window was scheduled to be from July 4 – Aug 3.

Per FIFA Regulations for the Status and Transfer of Players, every national association must establish two registration periods in which professional clubs are to register their players. U.S. Soccer is responsible for obtaining that clearance on behalf of all players in the U.S. participating in all affiliated leagues.

The transfer window is the period during the year in which a club can transfer players from other countries. The transfer window of a given football association governs only international transfers into that football association.

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) is a 10-team Division-I women’s professional soccer league featuring national team players from around the world. The ten clubs are the Boston Breakers, Chicago Red Stars, Houston Dash, FC Kansas City, Orlando Pride, Portland Thorns FC, Seattle Reign FC, Sky Blue FC, Washington Spirit and Western New York Flash.


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?