The list of ten female candidates has been drawn up by experts from the Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ as well as by experts from France Football. The list of ten coaches has been drawn up by football experts from the Football Committee, the Technical and Development Committee and the Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup™, as well as by a group of experts from France Football. 

On 5 December 2011, FIFA and France Football will announce at a media event in Paris the names of the three men and three women, as well as the three coaches for women’s football and three coaches of men’s football, who have received the most votes. Also announced will be the three nominees for the FIFA Puskás Award. 


Women’s short lists for the FIFA Ballon d’Or gala 2011 

The following ten women are in contention for the title of FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2011: 

Sonia Bompastor (France)


Kerstin Garefrekes (Germany)



Marta (Brazil)


Aya Miyama (Japan)


Alex Morgan (USA)


Louisa Necib (France)


Homare Sawa (Japan)


Lotta Schelin (Sweden)


Hope Solo (USA)


Abby Wambach (USA)

The following ten coaches are in contention for the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football 2011: 

Bruno Bini (France/France national team)


Leonardo Cuellar (Mexico/Mexico national team)


Thomas Dennerby (Sweden/Sweden national team)


Patrice Lair (France/Olympique Lyonnais)


Maren Meinert (Germany/Germany U-20 national team)


Hope Powell (England/England national team)


Norio Sasaki (Japan/Japan national team)




Tom Sermanni (Australia/Australia national team)


Pia Sundhage (Sweden/USA national team)


Jorge Vilda (Spain/Spain U-17 national team)



Photos: Getty Images Europe


  1. Women's Soccer United 10 years ago

    Thank you for sharing @Gromit, it’s interesting to read Farid Benstiti’s thoughts after the match

  2. Women's Soccer United 11 years ago

    That’s true @Sopheena. She is very passionate and dedicated to the game and is a great goalkeeper.

  3. Sopheena Liti Nyowep 11 years ago

    I’d choose Hope Solo for her outstanding performance. It’s rare to see such a goalie so passionate and giving her best in the goal 😉

  4. Women's Soccer United 11 years ago

    I would have thought Christine Sinclair would have made the short-list.

Leave a reply

©2023 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?