France Football launches Women’s Ballon d’Or!

2018 will be remembered as the year that the first Women’s Ballon d’Or was awarded.

In 1956, France Football created the first Ballon d’Or, which was originally reserved for European players only. In 1995, this was extended to include any player involved in a European club and in 2007 became eligible to anyone in the world.

Fast forward to 2018, we have another historic moment and huge step forward in the evolution of global women’s football as the first Women’s Ballon d’Or.

France Football feel it is a great time to introduce the new award as the sport continues to grow with the rise of well structured brands such as (Olympique Lyonnais, Chelsea, PSG, Manchester City and more).

Audience figures has also played a part in the decision to launch the Women’s Ballon D’Or; at the last World Cup (Canada 2015), there were 764 million viewers!

The award is another step towards equality for women’s football.

The Women’s Ballon d’Or award process:

15 players to be named as nominees – 8 October 2018
Award ceremony – 3 December 2018


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?