Homare Sawa (Japan) wins the FIFA women’s World Player of the year award 2011 beating Marta and Wambach. Norio Sasaki (Japan) beat Bruno Bini (France) and Pia Sundhage (USWNT) to win the Women’s World Coach of the Year 2011.


Nadeshiko Japan veteran Homare Sawa was crowned the FIFA women’s World Player of the Year 2011 beating five time winner Marta and Abby Wambach. 


Sawa captained the World Cup winning team Japan at the FIFA women’s World Cup and collected the personal honour FIFA Women’s World Cup Golden Boot Award 2011.

Sawa collected 28.51% of the voting percentage, followed by Marta (17.28%) and Abby Wambach (13.26%). View full voting percentages.


Norio Sasaki (Nadeshiko Japan’s National Team Coach) was crowned FIFA Women’s World Coach of the Year 2011. Sasaki enjoyed a very successful 2011 winning the FIFA Women’s World Cup. Japan had previously had just one FIFA Women’s World Cup quarter-final appearance.


Sasaki won the Women’s World Cup with style beating host nation and reigning Champions Germany, Sweden and finally USA in the Final, which they won on penalties. 

In the voting percentages Norio Sasaki led women’s coach of the year with 45.57% of the votes followed by Pia Sundhage (15.83%), and Bruno Bini (10.28%). View full voting percentages.



Watch Homare Sawa collect her Player of the Year 2011 award.

Find more videos like this on Womens Soccer United


What are your views? Leave your comments below


  1. A-Hamm 10 years ago

    ESPN should have put this on. FOX Soccer, NBC Sports Network and NBC have all broadcast games.

  2. Author
    Women's Soccer United 10 years ago

    interesting read @Izzy

  3. Jaz Benz 10 years ago

    true but since absolutely no german player went that time cuz they got knocked out by japan lol

Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?