India wins the SAFF Women’s Championship 2014

India wins the SAFF Women’s Championship 2014

India Women’s National football team beat Nepal 6-0 in the final to be crowned the SAFF Women’s Champions 2014!

India have won the Championship title for the third time in a row! India have previously won in Bangladesh (2010) and Sri Lanka (2012), in which they beat opponents Nepal 1-0 and 3-1 respectively.

The final was held at Jinnah Stadium in Islamabad and was a one-sided match which saw India thrash Nepal 6-0! Ngangom Bala Devi netted four of the goals for India and was a constant threat to Nepal’s defence. Bala Devi scored an impressive total of 16 goals in this year’s Championship.

It was Kamla Devi who broke the deadlock in the final as she scored the first goal for India in the 24th minute. 5 minutes before half-time Bala Devi scored her first of the match (India’s second) and in the 43rd minute she made 3-0 to round up a Indian dominated first 45 minutes of play.

It took just two minutes after the start of the second half for Romi Devi to score the fourth goal for India and Bala Devi netted her hat-trick in the 51st minute. India continued to dominate the match with little response from Nepal, in injury time Bala Devi scored India’s sixth and final goal of the match.

The SAFF Women’s Championship 2014 final match reflected the tournament as a whole with India dominating. They scored a total of 36 goals and conceded only one, which was scored by Sabina Khatoon of Bangladesh in the group match.

India’s journey to win the SAFF Women’s Championship 2014:

Group Stage:
India 8-0 Maldives

India 5-1 Bangladesh

India 12-0 Afghanistan

India 5-0 Sri Lanka

India 6-0 Nepal



Leave a reply

©2023 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?