Republic of Ireland Under-17 Head Coach Colin Bell names squad for Denmark double-header

Republic of Ireland Under-17 Head Coach Colin Bell names squad for Denmark double-header

Republic of Ireland Women’s Under-17 Head Coach Colin Bell has named a 20-player squad ahead of two friendly matches against Denmark.

The WU17s will welcome their opponents to the FAI National Training Centre for two games that will help the squad prepare for their UEFA European Championship Elite Round matches in March against Germany, Azerbaijan and Iceland.

The first game against Denmark takes place on Monday, February 5, and the second friendly match will happen on Thursday, February 8, with the players set to report for the camp on the Friday beforehand.

Galway WFC midfielder Lucia Lobato is called in alongside Tyler Toland, Isibeal Atkinson, Amy Boyle Carr, Zara Foley and Eabha O’Mahony, who were all part of the women’s senior squad for two recent games against Portugal.

“It is going to be an important week for the squad as we prepare for our Elite Round fixtures,” said Bell.

“We came through the qualification phase with wins over Bosnia and Herzegovina, Greece and Romania, having not conceded a goal. It shows the quality we have in this young squad and I’m hoping to see even more improvement from the squad in these two friendly matches.

“Five players in the squad were also part of the senior squad for the friendly matches against Portugal and I’m hoping they can use their experience from spending time with the senior team to enhance the standard in training throughout the week.

“Denmark will provide quality opposition ahead of the Elite Round in March where we will need to be at our very best to progress past Germany, Iceland and Azerbaijan.”

Republic of Ireland WU17 Squad


Rachel Kelly (Shelbourne Ladies), Courtney Maguire (Cabinteely)


Eabha O’Mahony (Lakewood), Roisin McGovern (UCD Waves), Rachel O’Regan (Carrigaline), Harriet Lambe (Yeovil Town), Leah Brady (Lucan United), Doireann Fahey (Peamount United)


Megan Mackey (Chelsea Ladies), Tyler Toland (Maiden City), Jessica Ziu, Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne Ladies), Aoife Slattery (Ferrybank), Amy Boyle Carr (Sion Swifts), Lucia Lobato (Galway WFC)


Alannah McEvoy, Emily Whelan (Shelbourne Ladies), Andrea Trill (Cregmore), Louise Masterson (Peamount United), Zara Foley (Lakewood)


Denmark Squad:
Laura Frederikke Nielsen – Team Odense Q
Line Andersen – Lyseng
Amalie Littau – BSF
Cecilie Kristensen – Varde IF
Ea Maiken Rasmussen – KoldingQ
Pernille Pedersen – Lyseng
Sascha Larsen – Team Odense Q
Selma Svendsen – B93
Sille Tvede – Brøndby IF
Josefine Hasbo – BSF
Julie Madsen – AaB
Michelle Sandfeld – Vildbjerg SF
Nicoline Kiilsholm Bæksted – Team Odense Q
Olivia Møller Holdt – Vildbjerg SF
Sarah Sundahl – Team Odense Q
Sascha Nielsen – Vejle BK
Cecilie Christensen – Fortuna Hjørring
Cecilie Larsen – Hillerød GI
Emma Snerle – Fortuna Hjørring
Laura Juul Farum – Boldklub


February 5: Republic of Ireland v Denmark, FAI National Training Centre
February 8: Republic of Ireland v Denmark, FAI National Training Centre


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?