Dave Bell names squad for the UEFA Women's Under 17 European Championships
Republic of Ireland’s, from left, Tiegan Ruddy, Heather Payne and Sadhbh Doyle pose for a feature before squad training at Abbotstown in Dublin. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Dave Bell names squad for the UEFA Women’s Under 17 European Championships

Republic of Ireland travel to the Czech Republic following impressive qualifying campaign

The squad are set to fly out to the competition on Thursday as they face England, Netherlands and Norway in Group B, with the eight best teams in Europe competing in the finals competition.

The WU17s progressed through a difficult Elite Round stage to reach the finals competition. After beating Serbia and drawing against Scotland, Heather Payne’s free-kick secured a 1-0 win over Hungary to book the squad’s tickets to the Czech Republic.

The Continental Tyres Women’s National League is well represented with the likes of Galway WFC defender Sadhbh Doyle, Shelbourne Ladies’ Tiegan Ruddy and Peamount United’s Heather Payne all in the finals squad.

Evergreen’s Carla McManus, who scored five goals in the qualifying campaign, is in the squad and there are also call-ups for Chelsea Ladies midfielder Megan Mackey and West Bromwich Albion’s Phoebe Warner.

Head Coach Dave Bell said: “We’re really looking forward to showing what we can do in the Czech Republic. The girls have worked so hard to get to this stage and fully deserve to be playing against the best in Europe.

“It is going to be difficult, we’re under no illusions but this group have shown tremendous character where they have needed to get results and we came through a difficult Elite Round against Hungary, Serbia and Scotland to be here.

“We’ve got a lot of players who are already playing at National League level and Tiegan (Ruddy) has already played for the senior team so there is some really good experience throughout the whole squad.

“This is going to be a great experience for the players but we’re fully focused on representing this country and fully focused on getting a result in that first game against England.”

Republic of Ireland WU17 Squad


Erica Turner (UCD Waves),
Rachael Kelly (Shelbourne LFC)


Isibeal Atkinson (Enniskerry),
Doireann Fahey (Peamount United),
Sadhbh Doyle (Galway WFC),
Eabha O’Mahony (Lakewood),
Roisin McGovern (Enniskerry),
Lauryn Grier (Kentstown Rovers)


Tyler Toland (Maiden City),
Megan Mackey (Chelsea LFC),
Tiegan Ruddy (Shelbourne LFC),
Aisling Spillane (Peamount United),
Orla Casey (Evergreen),
Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne LFC),
Phoebe Warner (West Bromwich Albion)


Alannah McEvoy (Enniskerry),
Carla McManus (Peamount United),
Heather Payne (Peamount United)

Republic of Ireland WU17s tournament fixture schedule

2 May, 2017: Republic of Ireland v England, KO 11.00, Na Litavce, Pribram (CZE)
5 May, 2017: Republic of Ireland v Norway, KO 11.00, Doosan Arena, Plzen (CZE)
8 May 2017 – Netherlands v Republic of Ireland, KO 14.00, Domazlice Stadium, Domazlice (CZE)

View the full UEFA Under-17 Women’s Championship Finals schedule.

Video: Interview with Republic of Ireland Head Coach Dave Bell


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?