Saoirse Noonan

Dave Connell names Republic of Ireland Women’s Under-19 squad for Elite Round.

Ireland to face Austria, Spain and Turkey in Turners Cross.
Republic of Ireland Women’s Under-19 Head Coach Dave Connell has named a 20-player squad for the UEFA Women’s Under-19 Championship Elite Round.

Connell’s side will play three games over the course of a six day period, with each game taking place in Turners Cross.

Austria are first up for Ireland, a side the Girls in Green drew 1-1 with in 2017. Next up will be a tough test for Ireland as they take on Spain, who go into the group as red-hot favourites having won last year’s European Championship Finals tournament in Northern Ireland.

Dave Connell has had success against the Spanish in the past, memorably leading his side to a 1-0 win over Spain at the UEFA Women’s Under-19 Championship Finals in 2014.

The final group game will see Connell’s side taking on Turkey on Sunday, April 8.

Speaking following his squad announcement, Connell was looking forward to the challenge.

“We have a good mix of youth and experience at this age group. We have 11 players that will still be eligible next year so it will be good for them to get a taste of what is expected at this level.

“The older players realise this is their last chance at underage before they progress to senior level and they are focussed on achieving something. We understand how big a task it will be. No one is tipping us to progress but we will prepare right and be ready to go.

“We are concentrating on our own performances and working to ensure we are consistent throughout. Cork has been a happy hunting ground for us in the past and we’ll be aiming to continue that run.”

Republic of Ireland WU19 Squad


Naoisha McAloon (Peamount United),
Erica Turner (UCD Waves)


Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United),
Lauryn O’Callaghan (Peamount United),
Danielle Burke (Cork City),
Sadbh Doyle (Galway WFC),
Tiegan Ruddy (Shelbourne Ladies)


Chloe Singleton (Galway WFC),
Sinead Donavon (Galway WFC),
Alex Kavanagh (Shelbourne Ladies),
Lynn Craven (Shelbourne Ladies),
Megan Mackey (Chelsea),
Phobhe Warner (Aston Villa),
Orla Casey (Wexford WFC)


Saoirse Noonan (Cork City),
Aoife Thompson (Galway WFC),
Lucia Lobato (Galway WFC),
Kate Mooney (Shelbourne Ladies),
Alannah McEvoy (Shelbourne Ladies),
Naima Chemaou (UCD Waves)

2017/18 UEFA Women’s Under-19 European Championships Elite Round Fixtures

April 2: Republic of Ireland v Austria, Turners Cross, 15:00
April 5: Spain v Republic of Ireland, Turners Cross, 19:00
April 8: Turkey v Republic of Ireland, Turners Cross, 14:00


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?