Republic of Ireland senior women’s head coach Sue Ronan has named a squad of 24 for the upcoming women’s senior international friendly against Switzerland which takes place on Wednesday, August 24 in Richmond Park at 7.30pm.

Included in the squad are six heroines from the recent Peamount squad who qualified for the knock-out stage of the Champions League including defender Louise Quinn and Denise O’Sullivan, Julie-Ann Russell, Stephanie Roche, Karen Duggan and Grace Murray who are all currently on loan at Peamount United.

Switzerland, who is currently 26th in the FIFA World Rankings, will act as ideal preparation for Sue Ronan’s side that kick-off their EURO 2013 campaign next month with a double header away against Wales on September 17 and against France on September 22 in Turners Cross.

Speaking at the squad announcement, head coach Sue Ronan said, “Over the last nine months we have been working with a nucleus of 30 players in the extended squad and this Switzerland friendly represents the only real competitive test for them before the start of the new campaign. This game will give us an opportunity to look at the players in this environment and I feel that the mix between experience and underage players who have been promoted into the senior panel is very exciting. Switzerland are one of the top teams in Europe as we know only too well after they topped our last World Cup qualifying group in the last campaign. Now is the time for the players to step up their preparation for the serious business of qualifying which begins next month,” said Ronan.

Republic of Ireland squad

Emma Byrne – Arsenal FC


Niamh Reid-Burke – Raheny United FC


Ciara Grant – Arsenal FC


Yvonne Tracy – Arsenal FC


Niamh Fahey – Arsenal FC


Diane Caldwell – Thor/KA FC 


Shannon McDonnell – Chicago Red Stars FC


Mary Therese McDonnell – Chicago Red Stars FC


Fiona O’Sullivan – Pitea IF


Shannon Smyth – Amazon Grimstad FK


Meabh de Burca – Boston Aztec FC


Aine O’Gorman – Doncaster Belles FC


Louise Quinn – Peamount United FC


Sonya Hughes – Glebe North FC


Marie Curtin – Kilmallock FC


Karen Duggan – Piltown FC


Stephanie Roche – Raheny United FC


Julie-Ann Russell – Salthill Devon FC


Grace Murray – Dundalk Ladies FC


Dora Gorman – Salthill Devon FC


Megan Campbell – Raheny United FC


Denise O’Sullivan – Wilton United FC


Mary Waldron – St. Catherine’s FC


Jenny Critchley – Salthill Devon FC






  1. Women's Soccer United 9 years ago

    England Sub: Bardsley replaced by Chamberlain

Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?