AFC Women's Asian Cup

Japan win second successive AFC Women’s Asian Cup title!

Nadeshiko Japan are 2018 AFC Women’s Asian Cup Champions after a superb strike from Kumi Yokoyama secured a 1-0 win over Australia in Friday’s final.

Asako Takakura has led Japan to become the first team to win back-to-back Asian titles since 2003, when Korea DPR accomplished it.

In a well fought final contest, Japan defended against a surge of shots at goal from Australia, including a penalty kick in the 15th minute which Ayaka Yamashita saved!

It was with just six minutes remaining in the match when Kumi Yokoyama unleashed a fantastic strike from just inside the box into the back of the net.

Both these teams met in the group stage of this tournament which ended in a 1-1 draw, the Matildas ended as Group B winners on goal difference ahead of Japan, here’s a recap of the AFC Women’s Asian Cup results

The victory in the final ensured Japan their third major trophy in seven years, and their first under head coach Takakura.

2018 AFC Women’s Asian Cup Final Awards:

Champions: Japan

Runners-up: Australia

Third-place: China PR

Most Valuable Player: Mana Iwabuchi (Japan)

Top Scorer: Li Ying (China PR)

Fair Play: Japan


Leave a reply

©2020 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?