Japan 2014 AFC Women’s National Team of the Year

Japan win AFC Women’s National Team of the Year award 2014

An emphatic triumph in the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup has earned Japan the 2014 AFC Women’s National Team of the Year award, the team swept to glory in Costa Rica with a 100% record as the Young Nadeshiko also claimed the Fair Play Award as well as three individual accolades.
Skipper Hina Sugita, who was named AFC Women’s Youth Player of the Year, and teammate Yui Hasegawa won the adidas Golden and Silver Ball respectively for the tournament’s best and second best players while Makimo Matsumoto was adjudged the top keeper after conceding just once in six matches.

Past winners:

2013     Korea Republic U-19s

2012     Japan

2011     Japan

2010     Australia

2009     Japan U-20s

2008     DPR Korea

2007     DPR Korea

Hina Sugita wins AFC Women’s Youth Player of the Year

Hina Sugita AFC Women’s Youth Player of the Year award

Hina Sugita’s standout performances throughout Japan’s victorious 2014 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup campaign has earned the Young Nadeshiko playmaker the AFC Women’s Youth Player of the Year award.
The award is the pinnacle of a number of individual accolades the talented Fujieda Junshin High School student has received having already picked up the adidas Golden Ball for the best player at Costa Rica 2014, which saw Sugita add to the MVP prize she won after leading Japan to glory at the 2013 AFC U-16 Women’s Championship in China.

Sugita scooped the prestigious AFC Women’s Youth Player of the Year award ahead of Young Nadeshiko team-mates Yui Hasegawa, winner of the adidas Silver Ball at Costa Rica 2014, and Makimo Matsumoto, who conceded just once in six matches to be named the tournament’s best goalkeeper.

“I’m so happy to receive this award and more importantly achieve what we wanted for the team but I feel I need to improve further in terms of physical strength. Against physically strong opponents, I will have to improve my technical and tactical abilities,” Sugita told www.the-afc.com after being presented her award by AFC Vice President Moya Dodd on the closing day of the AFC Women’s Asian Cup 2014 Workshop on Wednesday.

“I will also try my best to be included in the squad for the AFC U-19 Women’s Championship next year and get good results for the team.”

Past winners:

2013 Jang Sel-gi (KOR)

2012 Hanae Shibata (JPN)

2011 Caitlin Foord (AUS)

2010 Yeo Min-ji (KOR)

2009 Mana Iwabuchi (JPN)

2008 Mana Iwabuchi (JPN)
Photos courtesy of: the-afc.com

Source courtesy of: the-afc.com



Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?