Jill Ellis names 29 players for USWNT training camp

U.S. Women’s National Team head coach Jill Ellis has named 29 players to the first training camp roster of 2017 as the USA kicks off the year with an event running from Jan. 13-23 at the U.S. Soccer National Training Center in Carson, California.

Twenty-two of the 29 players earned a cap for the USA in 2016 while Ellis also named six uncapped players. Forward Amy Rodriguez, a member of the 2015 Women’s World Cup champions, makes her return to a roster for the first time since giving birth to her second child on July 1, 2016.

“The players have had a good break since our last games in November and I know everyone is anxious to get back to work,” said Ellis. “January Camp has always been valuable to set the tone for the upcoming year and it will be good for the players to get back on the field. For the staff, evaluation and performance remain the focal points during the 11-day camp as we begin a build up to the SheBelieves Cup.”

The January training camp will be a key evaluation period for Ellis to choose a squad for the upcoming SheBelieves Cup, which – as the inaugural tournament last year – will feature four of the world’s top-five ranked teams in the USA (1), Germany (2), France (3) and England (5).

The U.S. Women’s National Team and U.S. Soccer will continue to operate under the Collective Bargaining Agreement in its current form as we continue negotiations into the new year.


USWNT squad:


Jane Campbell – Stanford

Adrianna Franch – Portland Thorns FC

Ashlyn Harris – Orlando Pride

Alyssa Naeher – Chicago Red Stars



Jaelene Hinkle – Western New York Flash

Julie Johnston – Chicago Red Stars

Ali Krieger – Orlando Pride

Kelley O’Hara – Sky Blue FC

Becky Sauerbrunn – FC Kansas City

Casey Short – Chicago Red Stars

Emily Sonnett – Portland Thorns FC



Morgan Brian – Houston Dash

Kristen Edmonds – Orlando Pride

Christina Gibbons – Duke

Tobin Heath – Portland Thorns FC

Lindsey Horan – Portland Thorns FC

Rose Lavelle – Wisconsin

Carli Lloyd – Houston Dash

Allie Long – Portland Thorns FC

Samantha Mewis – Western New York Flash

Megan Rapinoe – Seattle Reign FC

Taylor Smith – Western New York Flash



Crystal Dunn – Chelsea Ladies FC

Jessica McDonald – Western New York Flash

Alex Morgan – Olympique Lyonnais

Kealia Ohai – Houston Dash

Christen Press – Chicago Red Stars

Amy Rodriguez – FC Kansas City

Lynn Williams – Western New York Flash


Source courtesy of:



Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?