Kelly Smith is on the final shortlist for this year FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award.

The England star was initially amongst ten names back in October but the list has been whittled down to five and Kelly is named alongside Brazilian duo Marta and Cristiane, plus Inka Grings and Birgit Prinz from Germany’s successful UEFA Women’s Championship winning side.

2009 has been another landmark year for Kelly, most notably for spearheading England’s run to the Euro 2009 Final, where she scored in the 6-2 defeat by Germany, despite not being in full fitness. As well as making an impact in the United States with her club side Boston Breakers, she scored a hat-trick for Arsenal in the Premier League Cup Final against Doncaster Rovers Belles in the final match before her departure abroad.

The men’s and women’s awards will be presented at the Kongresshaus in Zurich at the annual FIFA World Player Gala on 21 December. The candidates will have been voted for by the coaches and captains of women’s national teams from around the world.

News taken from

  1. Women's Soccer United 10 years ago

    Yes, well done Kelly 🙂

  2. Alexandra Ryazanova 10 years ago

    and we are!! c’mon, Kelly!!!!

  3. Author

    I think that some of u will be veeeeery happy for this xD lol

Leave a reply

©2019 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?