Korea Republic to host 2019 EAFF E-1 Football Championship

The tournament will be held in Korea Republic in 2019, the KFA said, following its rotational order of hosting the four-nation tournament.

“On rotational basis in the order Japan, Korea Republic and China PR, we’ll host the 2019 edition of the E-1 Football Championship,” a KFA official said.

This will be the 3rd time that Korea Republic have hosted the regional tournament. The country previously staged the football event in 2005 and 2013.

The E-1 Football Championship, was previously known as the East Asian Cup, which was started in 2003. It’s a four team round-robin tournament held every two or three years.

Korea Republic are in the finals 2019 as the tournament hosts. The women’s competition also gives automatic spots to the top two teams in FIFA rankings which are Japan and Korea DPR, with one remaining spot going to the team that wins the qualifying stage. DPR Korea will be looking for their fourth consecutive championship in 2019.


First Qualifying Round Teams


Northern Mariana Islands





Monday 3rd September

Macao 0 – 5 Guam

Goals From:

Kaycee Hoover 6′ 31′ (Guam)

Jenna Merrill 55′ (Guam)

Riley Hoover 67′ (Guam)

Colleen Naden 74′ (Guam)


Mongolia 3 – 2 Northern Mariana Islands

Goals From:

Gianna Griffin 11′ (Northern Mariana Islands)

Jeralyn Sastillo 22′ (Northern Mariana Islands)

Namuunaa Narmandakh 51′ 82′ (Mongolia)

Tsolmon Ganchimeg 61′ (Mongolia)



Wednesday 5th September

Northern Mariana Islands 0 – 0 Macao


Mongolia 1 – 0 Guam

Goals From:

Otgonbaatar Sarangarav 90+2′ (Mongolia)


Friday 7th September

Guam 0 – 0 Northern Mariana Islands

Mongolia 0 – 0 Macao

(Only the Group winner will go into the Second Qualifying Round)




Second Qualifying Round

China PR

Chinese Taipei

Hong Kong



Second Qualifying Round Fixtures:


Saturday 1st December

Chinese Taipei 2 – 0 Hong Kong

Goals: Ying-Hui Chen 34’, Yen-Ping Chen 70’,


China PR 10 – 0 Mongolia

Goals: Wang Shanshan 4’ 16’ 25’ 61’, Li Jiayue 15’, Zhang Rui 21’, Li Ying 28’, Lou Jiahui 43’, Yang Lina 45’, Yao Wei 89’,



Monday 3rd December

Hong Kong 0 – 6 China PR

Goals: Yao Wei 11’, Wang Shanshan 27’, Yang Mn 63’, Huang Yini 74’, He Wei 89’, Li Ying 90+1’,


Chinese Taipei 6 – 0 Mongolia

Goals: 26 ?, Lee Hsiu-Chin 30’ 52’ 78’, Lai Li-Chin 59’, Chen Ying-Hui 78’,



Wednesday 5th December

Mongolia 0 – 3 Hong Kong

Goals: Kwong Wing Yan 43’ 45+1’, Cheung Wai Ki 77’,


China PR 2 – 0 Chinese Taipei

Goals: Wang Shanshan 10’, Yuyi Xiao 16’,


(Only the Group winner will go into the Finals Round)


Final’s Round


Korea DPR

Korea Republic



Continue reading and support the upkeep of the WSU website…

Get Access All Areas now (just £14.99 per year – £1.25 per month)

Already a Access All Areas member?     Log In

New to the site, or need to upgrade?     Subscribe



Leave a reply

©2019 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?