Lieke Martens wins 2016/17 UEFA Women's Player of the Year!

Lieke Martens wins 2016/17 UEFA Women’s Player of the Year!

Netherlands international Lieke Martens has tonight been named UEFA Women’s Player of the Year 2017/17.

Lieke Martens’ successful season saw her win Player of the Tournament at the UEFA Women’s Euro 2017, and become European Champions with Netherlands on home soil.

Lieke netted three goals in this summer’s biggest women’s football tournament assisted her country to Gold.

Martens earned 95 points in the poll beating fellow 2016/17 UEFA Women’s Player of the Year nominees Wolfsburg and Denmark striker Pernille Harder (81 points) and Olympique Lyonnais and Germany playmaker Dzsenifer Marozsán (47 points) to the award.

On receiving the award, Lieke told UEFA: “This is so amazing, It’s a big honour. I’m really proud, but I couldn’t achieve this without my team-mates. I’m speechless!”

Martens, recently made the move to FC Barcelona from Swedish club, FC Rosengård.

Final standings

1: Lieke Martens (Netherlands, Rosengård and Barcelona)
2: Pernille Harder (Denmark, Linköping and Wolfsburg)
3: Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany, Lyon)
4: Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands, Bayern München and Arsenal)
5: Eugénie Le Sommer (France, Lyon)
6: Wendie Renard (France, Lyon)
7: Jackie Groenen (Netherlands, FFC Frankfurt)
8: Lucy Bronze (England, Manchester City and Lyon)
9: Jodie Taylor (England, Arsenal)
10: Shanice van de Sanden (Netherlands, Liverpool)

Previous award winners:

2012/13 ─ Nadine Angerer (Germany, FFC Frankfurt)
2013/14 ─ Nadine Kessler (Germany, Wolfsburg)
2014/15 ─ Célia Šašić (Germany, FFC Frankfurt)
2015/16 ─ Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Lyon)


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?