Manchester United Women

Manchester United granted License.

Manchester United have been granted a licence to join next seasons Women’s Championship ending their 13 year absence from the senior women’s game.

West Ham United will move straight up to the top flight – the new 11-team, full-time Women’s Super League.

Charlton, Leicester City, Lewes and Sheffield United will join Man Utd in being added to the second tier.

But current top-flight side Sunderland and second-tier Watford and Oxford are to drop out of England’s top two tiers.

The news comes after a restructure of the women’s leagues – which are run by the Football Association – and saw existing clubs have to re-apply for their places, before a second, open application phase.

Southampton, Crystal Palace and Derby County were among the other sides to bid to join the new second division, but were unsuccessful.

Sunderland, who finished seventh in the top tier in 2017-18, Watford and Oxford will all be offered spots in the third tier, the new Women’s National League.


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?