European champions Netherlands are first nation to announce World Cup 2019 squad!

European champions Netherlands are first nation to announce World Cup 2019 squad!

Netherlands head coach Sarina Wiegman has announced her 23-player squad to compete at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

As part of Netherlands’ preparations for the Women’s World Cup, the European champions competed at this year’s Algarve Cup in which they finished in 11th place, beating China PR on penalties in their final placement match.

Just before heading to France, Netherlands will play an international friendly game against Australia Matildas on Saturday 1 June in Eindhoven.

The official 2019 World Cup squad lists need to be handed in to FIFA on Friday, 24 May. In case of serious injuries Sarina Wiegman can make changes to the selection up to 24 hours before the first World Cup group meetings with New Zealand.

Netherlands squad for WWC2019:

Lineth Beerensteyn (Bayern München)
Dominique Bloodworth (Arsenal)
Anouk Dekker (Montpellier HSC)
Merel van Dongen (Real Betis)
Daniëlle van de Donk (Arsenal)
Kika van Es (Ajax)
Loes Geurts (Kopparbergs/Göteborg FC)
Stefanie van der Gragt (FC Barcelona)
Jackie Groenen (1. FFC Fankfurt)
Ellen Jansen (Ajax)
Renate Jansen (FC Twente)
Inessa Kaagman (Everton)
Danique Kerkdijk (Bristol City)
Lize Kop (Ajax)
Desiree van Lunteren (SC Freiburg)
Lieke Martens (FC Barcelona)
Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)
Liza van der Most (Ajax)
Victoria Pelova (ADO Den Haag)
Jill Roord (Bayern München)
Shanice van de Sanden (Olympique Lyonnais)
Sherida Spitse (Vålerenga)
Sari van Veenendaal (Arsenal)

Players on standby list:

Cheyenne van den Goorbergh (FC Twente),
Barbara Lorsheyd (ADO Den Haag),
Aniek Nouwen (PSV),
Katja Snoeijs (PSV),
Ashleigh Weerden (FC Twente),
Jennifer Vreugdenhil (Valencia),
Siri Worm (Everton)


Leave a reply

©2020 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?