Marta, Sawa and Wambach are all contenders for this year’s FIFA Ballon d’Or Award for the Women’s World Player of the Year 2011 award.


Ten women from the World of women’s football were short-listed for the prestigious award and today the three nominees were announced.


Five times winner Marta (Brazil), Homare Sawa (Japan) and Abby Wambach (USA) will contest the women’s award after the nominees were confirmed by a poll in which captains, head coaches and media representatives voted.


The award will be presented at the FIFA Ballon d’Or on 9th January 2012 at the Kongresshaus in Zurich.


View the nominees for FIFA World Coach of the Year for women’s football 2011 award


What are your views? Leave your comments below


  1. Asa 10 years ago

    Thanks Ken,just changed source,sounds very interesting for both clubs.

  2. Marisa Españon 11 years ago

    Es dificil..las 3 tiene el mejor talento…Marta…impone su danza…y ritmo latino…Wambach…la tenacidad…y lucha…y Sawa…la agilidad…son INCREIBLES!

  3. Sopheena Liti Nyowep 11 years ago

    Sawa deserves it, although I prefer Abby 🙂 Marta is already a winner (just saying) heheh!

  4. Mara 11 years ago

    To be honest I respect all 3 of them just as much as any other lady on the list. Every single one of them would make a worthy winner of this award! Marta has won the award many times already, I think a bit of change won’t hurt…But that’s just my personal opinion.

    I personally would want Sawa-san to win. I admire the Nadeshiko for all they achieved this year…I honestly think Sawa-san deserves it. She might not be the best player but she did her best. She played an amazing season for club and NT.

Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?