Northern Ireland

Northern Ireland Pinatar Cup squad announced

Kenny Shiels has named his Northern Ireland Women’s squad for next months Pinatar Cup.

The matches in Spain will act as preparation for the Euro 2021 qualifiers with Belarus and the Faroe Islands.

Northern Ireland currently sit 4th in the table following two draws with Wales as well as falling to consecutive defeats to top seeds Norway.

Kenny Shiels’ players are set to take on Iceland, Ukraine and Scotland at the annual tournament staged in Murcia from the 4th to the 10th of March.

Sheil’s side kick off their Pinatar Cup campaign against Iceland, ranked 18th in the world, on Wednesday 4 March (kick-off time 2pm, GMT).

Next up is Ukraine, currently ranked 27th. That game takes place on 7 March (kick-off time 6pm, GMT).

And the last of their matches is against the Scots on 10 March (kick-off time 7.30pm, GMT). Scotland currently sit at number 22 in the Coca-Cola FIFA Women’s World Ranking list, 34 places ahead of Northern Ireland

There are two new senior call-ups with 16-year-old goalkeeper Lilie Crooks of Mid-Ulster ladies and Glentoran Women’s Danielle Maxwell who has been part of Northern Ireland’s under-age squads getting the nod.

Sheffield United keeper Becky Flaherty who was named player of the match in the 0-0 draw with Wales at Seaview misses out due to injury.

11 of the squad are made up of players still playing their football in Northern Ireland and continues to show that the local women’s game is on the rise.

Rangers double summer signings Megan Bell and Demi Vance are included as is Glasgow City’s new recruit Lauren Wade.


– Jackie Burns (IBV Iceland), Lilie Crooks (Mid Ulster Ladies).


– Kelsie Burrows (Blackburn Rovers LFC), Toni-Leigh Finnegan (Cliftonville Ladies), Ashley Hutton (Linfield Ladies), Julie Nelson (Crusaders Strikers), Rachel Newborough (Charlton Athletic Women), Demi Vance (Rangers Women).


– Marissa Callaghan (Cliftonville Ladies), Rachel Furness (Liverpool Women), Danielle Maxwell (Glentoran Women), Chloe McCarron (Linfield Ladies), Sarah McFadden (Durham Women FC), Rebecca McKenna (Linfield Ladies), Emma McMaster (Glentoran Women).


– Megan Bell (Rangers Women), Casey Howe (Linfield Ladies), Simone Magill (Everton Women), Caitlin McGuinness (Linfield Ladies), Lauren Wade (Glasgow City Ladies).


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?