National Women’s Soccer League Announces 2017 Awards

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced today the list of 2017 NWSL Awards featuring the Golden Boot, Most Valuable Player, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year and Best XI. The 2017 NWSL Awards will be voted upon in two rounds with fans once again participating in the voting process.

In the Preliminary Round, owners, general managers, coaches, players and the media will vote on the individual awards from Sept. 28 to Oct. 2 at 5 p.m. ET to determine the top finalists. The fans will then join the voting via an online link for the Final Round from Oct. 4 to Oct. 6 at 5 p.m. ET to determine the individual award winners and Best XI.

Voting Breakdown:

Preliminary Round: Owners/GMs/Coaches (25%), Media (25%) and Players (50%)
Final Round: Fans (20%), Owners/GMs/Coaches (20%), Media (20%) and Players (40%)

All 2017 NWSL Award winners will be announced in the days leading up to and following the NWSL Championship on Saturday, Oct. 14 at 4:30 p.m. ET on Lifetime at Orlando City Stadium in Orlando, Fla. Below is the complete awards announcement schedule.

2017 NWSL Awards – Announcement Schedule:

Monday, Oct. 2: Golden Boot
Tuesday, Oct. 10: Second XI
Thursday, Oct. 12: Best XI
Monday, Oct. 16: Coach of the Year
Tuesday, Oct. 17: Rookie of the Year
Wednesday, Oct. 18: Goalkeeper of the Year
Thursday, Oct. 19: Defender of the Year
Friday, Oct. 20: MVP


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?