The Philippine Football Federation, through head coach Ernie Nierras, has revealed the initial pool of players that will participate in the AFC Women’s Asian Cup Qualifiers next month.

From the initial list of 50, it will be trimmed to a group of 25 (with 2 reserves) by April 20. The pool is a combination of players who were part of the team during the 2012 AFF Women’s Football Championship (where they finished third in Group A and were unable to advance from the group stage), standouts from the UAAP, and those who participated in the US-based training camps.

Among those called up are skipper Marielle Benitez, AFF goalscorers Heather Cooke, Patrice Impelido, Sam Nierras, Marice Magdolot and Abby Komarc. UAAP Season 75 awardees Inna Palacios (Best GK) and Loreta Ladero (Best Midfielder) were also included in the call-up.

The Malditas are bracketed in Group B, alongside ASEAN foes Thailand (29th in the world, 6th in region), Iran (52nd in the world, 11th in region) and hosts Bangladesh (108th in the world, 23rd in region). They will play their matches from May 21-25 at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka.

The other countries in the Qualifiers are as follows:

Group A: Uzbekistan, Jordan, Lebanon and Kuwait (to be played in Amman, Jordan)

Group C: Vietnam, Hong Kong, Kyrgyzstan and Bahrain (to be played in Manama, Bahrain)

Group D: Myanmar, Chinese-Taipei, India and Palestine (to be played in the West Bank, Palestine)

The Group Stage winners would then join Australia, Japan, China and South Korea to comprise the Finals. From there, the top five teams will make it to the FIFA Women’s World Cup, which will be held in Canada come 2015.

1. Natasha Alquiros
2. Marielle Benitez
3. Heather Cooke
4. Mallory Dayot
5. Christina de los Reyes
6. Isabella Fernando
7. Abigail Komarc
8. Loreta Ladero
9. Patrice Impelido
10. Aisa Mondero
11. Marice Magdolot
12. Samantha Nierras
13. Inna Palacios
14. Camille Rodriguez
15. Nikki Regalado
16. Leah Cruz
17. Milka Romero
18. Adrian Yniguez
19. Angel Metillo
20. Jenny Hammond (former Sky Blue FC)
21. Catherine Barnekow
22. Ashley Mejilla
23. Valaine Confesor
24. Sarah Cook
25. Christiane Cordero
26. JoEllen de Leon
27. Joana Houplin
28. Cassandra Kobinski
29. Monika Lee
30. Katherine Lim
31. Alyssa Montejo
32. Rachel Nichols
33. Dominique Oro
34. Marisa Park
35. Malia Tilton
36. Shelby Salvacion
37. Jesse Shugg
38. Karly Tolentino
39. Sharon Whelchel
40. Camille Wilson
41. Chelsea Archer
42. Christina Archer
43. Olivia Collado
44. Megan Jurado
45. Raylene Larot
46. Morgan Brown
47. Alexa Diaz
48. Chalise Baysa
49. Maria Shipe
50. Carissa Christensen

The Malditas won the inaugural 2012 LA Viking Cup at the Santa Ana Stadium in California last year. The Filipinas escaped US club California Cosmos with a 4-3 triumph on penalties. The Philippine WNT scored two victories and a draw in the preliminary round to top the group and earn the right to play in the title match. Aside from the Malditas and the Cosmos, the four-team tournament also featured American teams Metro Stars and Leon.

“I’m kind of tickled pink, I don’t know what to say. I’m overwhelmed right now. This is the start of great things to happen for Filipino football, especially for women’s football in the Philippines,” said Coach Nierras shortly after winning.


  1. gromit 8 years ago

    @JP – Apparently, it’s no longer topical… :o(

    I agree with you, that would have been great….

  2. Author
    Mia Mon 8 years ago

    yup, they’re going to announce the 25 players later today. 🙂

  3. Women's Soccer United 8 years ago

    Great poster thanks @Dernhelm – good luck to the players 🙂

  4. Author

Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?