Portland Thorns FC 2014 NWSL roster

Portland Thorns FC announce 2015 NWSL season-opening roster

Portland Thorns FC has announced the team’s season-opening roster for the 2015 National Women’s Soccer League campaign. Thorns FC open the 2015 NWSL season at home Saturday against the Boston Breakers.

Led by second-year head coach Paul Riley and assistant coaches Skip Thorp and Scott Vallow, Thorns FC enter their third season in the NWSL with a deep and experienced roster, featuring 11 players who have played with their respective national teams and eight with FIFA Women’s World Cup experience.

The current roster is highlighted by a number of high-profile national team players, including U.S. Women’s National Team forward Alex Morgan, midfielder Tobin Heath and defender Rachel Van Hollebeke; Canada Women’s National Team forward Christine Sinclair and defenders Kaylyn Kyle and Rhian Wilkinson; Germany Women’s National Team goalkeeper Nadine Angerer; and England Women’s National Team forward Jodie Taylor. Taylor, the newest international addition, was acquired as part of a 2015 NWSL College Draft-day trade. In 2014 with the Washington Spirit, Taylor tallied 11 goals and two assists, earning NWSL Second XI accolades. One of the top goals scorers in the NWSL in 2014 midfielder Allie Long returns for a third season in Portland after a career-best year in 2014, recording nine goals and three assists and earning NWSL Second XI honors.

Portland also acquired several key players through offseason trades, including defender Kat Williamson, who played for Thorns FC during her rookie season in 2013, experienced midfielder McCall Zerboni and defender Kendall Johnson, while also signing midfielder Sarah Robbins, who previously played with Finnish club Åland United.

Australia Women’s National Team defender Steph Catley returns to Portland for her second season and will join Thorns FC after competing at the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup. Equatorial Guinea National Team forward Genoveva (Ayo) Añonma will join the team in May after the conclusion of her season with Turbine Potsdam in Germany’s Frauen Bundesliga.

In addition, six other players return as part of Portland’s roster for the 2015 campaign, including midfielders Mana Shim and Sinead Farrelly and defender Emily Menges, who appeared in more than half of Portland’s regular-season matches in 2014.

2015 Portland Thorns FC Active Roster (as of April 6, 2015)


Nadine Angerer,
Michelle Betos


Steph Catley,
Kendall Johnson,
Kaylyn Kyle,
Emily Menges,
Courtney Niemiec,
Rachel Van Hollebeke,
Rhian Wilkinson,
Kat Williamson


Sinead Farrelly,
Tobin Heath,
Allie Long,
Sarah Robbins,
Mana Shim,
McCall Zerboni


Genoveva (Ayo) Añonma,
Alex Morgan,
Christine Sinclair,
Jodie Taylor,
Hanna Terry

Source: www.timbers.com


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?