Maracanã Stadium

Rio 2016 Olympic Games Football Stadiums and Venues Announced

The Rio 2016 Olympic Games women’s football tournaments will take place in Seven stadiums in six cities: Belo Horizonte – Mineirão Stadium, Brasilia – Mané Garrincha Stadium, Manaus – Amazônia Arena, Rio de Janeiro – Maracanã Stadium & Olympic Stadium, Salvador – Fonte Nova Arena and São Paulo – Corinthians Arena.

“The inclusion of Manaus in the Rio 2016 Olympic schedule will enrich the tournament with a visit of the football players to one of the most iconic locations in the world,” said Rio 2016 President Carlos Nuzman. “I am certain that the Amazon will welcome the Olympic world with a memorable celebration.”

12 team will compete in the women’s tournament. In the women’s tournament, Colombia confirmed their place, along with hosts Brazil, by finishing runners-up in last year’s Copa America. All the remaining places will be decided by April 2016.

In the women’s competition there are no age restrictions. The 12 teams will be split into three groups of four, and matches will start on 3rd August 2016. The top two teams in each group and the two best third-placed teams will progress to the quarter-finals. The final will be played on 19th August 2016, also at the Maracanã Stadium which has a Capacity of 76,804.


  1. Eric Brouet 7 years ago

    Take me with you! 🙂

  2. WSU 7 years ago

    I love the fact that although we will be sad when the World Cup has ended… We have another exciting global women’s football tournament to look forward that is not too long to wait!

  3. Izzy 7 years ago

    I already guarantee my ticket to the final at the Maracana and if all goes well I’ll watch some other matches in Belo Horizonte and Rio! 😀 😀 😀 😉

Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?