Rio 2016 Olympic Games Women’s Football Teams

The qualifying tournaments for Rio 2016 have all been completed and we now have the confirmed 12 nations who will compete in this summer’s Olympic Games.

Brazil, Australia, China PR, Zimbabwe, South Africa, USA, Canada, Colombia, New Zealand, Germany, France and Sweden will battle it out for the gold medal at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

It has been a very eventful qualifying process which has brought heartache to some nations and pure joy to the successful twelve. Below is a recap of the qualified teams for the Rio 2016 Olympics and the confederation tournament’s in which they claimed their ticket to the games!




China PR

Australia Westfield Matildas put on a stunning performance at the AFC Olympic Women’s Qualifying tournament, remaining unbeaten throughout. The big shock from these qualifiers was the hosts Japan failing to make qualification.


South Africa

In the fourth round of the CAF Olympic Qualifying Tournament, Zimbabwe defeated Cameroon on away goals after a 2-1 away defeat in the opening leg followed by a 1-0 win in the second leg. South Africa beat Equatorial Guinea 1-0 over two legs to claim the second available berth.



Having made the CONCACAF Olympic Women’s Qualifying tournament Final, USA and Canada secured their place at Rio 2016. USA went on to win the Final 2-0.



Colombia won their place at the Rio 2016 Olympics through their successful performance at the Copa América Femenina in which they ended the final round of the competition as runners-up, behind Brazil.


New Zealand

New Zealand Football Ferns qualified via the OFC Olympic play-off matches. New Zealand qualified after their OFC qualifying play-off opponents, Papua New Guinea withdrew from the second leg. The Football Ferns dominated the first leg earning a 7-1 win.



Germany and France qualified through their progress at the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015. With England making up the best 3 UEFA nations, they were the highest European finisher but are currently unable to qualify for the Olympics, there was still a berth to contest. Netherlands hosted the UEFA Olympic qualifying tournament between themselves, Norway, Sweden and Switzerland in which the winner claims the ticket. After a very exciting three days of matches, it was Sweden who came out on top winning two of their games and drawing their final fixture against the Netherlands.


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?