Seattle Reign FC

It was an extraordinary offseason for Seattle Reign FC, with only 10 players on the final roster returning from the 2013 squad.

Seattle’s technical staff is the same as it was in 2013, with Laura Harvey signing a four-year deal during the offseason to remain at the helm as head coach and general manager. Sam Laity returns as Reign FC’s assistant coach with Ben Dragavon coming back as the goalkeeping coach.

Harvey’s primary focus during the offseason was to strengthen the Reign FC attack. Her efforts resulted in the additions of USWNT forward Sydney Leroux, Scottish international midfielder Kim Little, Japanese WNT forward Nahomi “Naho” Kawasumi and forwards Danielle Foxhoven and Bev Goebel.

Leroux played with the Boston Breakers in 2013 and finished second in the NWSL with 11 goals. Foxhoven won the NWSL championship last year with Thorns FC and now joins fellow University of Portland alums Cox, Rapinoe, Frisbie, Winters and Reed on the Reign FC roster. Naho and Goebel spent the last two years together at INAC Kobe Leonessa winning the Nadeshiko League Championship in both seasons. The pair was also a part of the league’s ‘Best XI’ roster in 2013, with Naho voted league MVP and Goebel capturing the Golden Boot. Kim Little is reunited with coach Laura Harvey, with whom she spent several seasons at Arsenal Ladies.

The club also bolstered its defensive depth by signing Canadian Women’s National Team defender Carmelina Moscato, defender Kendall Fletcher and midfielder Mariah Nogueira.

Reign FC also signed two of its’ three 2014 NWSL College Draft picks: defender Amanda Frisbie (7th overall), from the University of Portland and defender Megan Brigman (17th overall), from the University of North Carolina.

This is how the official 20-player roster shakes out:


Haley Kopmeyer (Seattle Reign FC), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)


Lauren Barnes (Seattle Reign FC), Megan Brigman (University of North Carolina), Steph Cox (Seattle Reign FC), Kiersten Dallstream (Seattle Reign FC), Kate Deines (Seattle Reign FC), Kendall Fletcher (Canberra United), Amanda Frisbie (University of Portland), Carmelina Moscato (Boston Breakers), Elli Reed (Seattle Reign FC)


Jess Fishlock (Seattle Reign FC), Kim Little (Arsenal LFC), Mariah Nogueira (Boston Breakers), Keelin Winters (Seattle Reign FC)


Danielle Foxhoven (Portland Thorns FC), Bev Goebel (INAC Kobe Leonessa), Nahomi “Naho” Kawasumi (INAC Kobe Leonessa), Sydney Leroux (Boston Breakers), Megan Rapinoe (Olympique Lyonnais)

Take a look at all the competing team’s official NWSL 2014 player rosters.



Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?